Report No. 256/2023 Report of the Traffic and Transport Strategic Policy Committee



# Breviate of the Traffic and Transport Strategic Policy Committee meeting held on 8<sup>th</sup> November 2023

#### Item No.

Prior to the start of the agenda Councillor Mannix Flynn raised the recent media coverage suggesting problems with the route of the Dublin City Marathon.

The Manager outlined that issues regarding the start and finish locations for the race and also closing down traffic in the area for three days around the event where raised by the former Chief Executive with the organisers of the marathon. He also informed members that while the Transportation Department may be asked to comment on proposals submitted, it is the Events Section of Dublin City Council deal with this annual occasion.

#### Item No.

- 1. Minutes of Traffic and Transport SPC Meeting of 13th September, 2023
- a) Minutes of Walking & Cycling Sub-Committee held on 13th September, 2023
- b) Minutes of Public Transport Subcommittee held on 22nd June, 2023

# 1–1b – Noted and agreed

2. Finance SPC request for discussion at the Traffic and Transport SPC on the issue of congestion charges for Dublin City

The Chair of the Finance SPC kicked off the discussion informing members that introducing congestion charges has arisen a number of times at the Finance SPC.

A number of members did not support the charges. Other members that did not object to the idea of congestion charges did feel however, it was not the time to introduce them and would rather concentrate on delivery of current projects such as the City Centre Programme.

Brendan O'Brien said it was not a suitable tool in Dublin at this time and would involve a high cost upfront. Dublin City Council does not have the mechanisms in place to carry it out at the moment.

# The Executive would not commit to any reporting on this matter in the short term, suggesting congestion charges may be a consideration for future committees.

3. Report on Draft Dublin City Council Parking Control Bye-Laws 2024.

Members agreed to recommend the Draft Dublin City Council Parking Control Bye-Laws, 2024 to the December City Council meeting.

# Report noted and recommendation agreed

4. Guidelines on Traffic Works Procedures - Section 38 of the Road Traffic Act (1994)

Presentation by Brendan O'Brien, Head of Technical Services

## **Presentation noted**

5. Active Travel Programme – Report and Update

Update given by Christopher Manzira, Deputy Director, Active Travel Programme Office.

## Report and update noted

6. AOB

• Public Consultation for the Draft City Centre Transport Plan ends on 1st December, 2023

• The winter maintenance programme was raised and the Manager said there would be a presentation by Road Maintenance at next Walking and Cycling Subcommittee on this topic.

Councillor Noeleen Reilly Chairperson 8<sup>th</sup> November 2023

#### ATTENDANCE:

#### **SPC Members:**

Chair, Councillor Noeleen Reilly; Councillor Caroline Conroy; Councillor Deirdre Conroy; Councillor Keith Connolly; Councillor Mannix Flynn; Councillor Janet Horner; Councillor Paddy McCartan; Councillor Larry O'Toole; Councillor Michael Pidgeon; Councillor Anne Feeney;

Mr Martin Hoey, Public Participation Network; Mr Colm Ryder, Dublin Cycling Campaign; Richard Guiney Dublin Town, Mr Keith Gavin, Irish Parking; Stephen Browne, Dublin Chamber; Gary Kearney, Public Participation Network

Apologies: Councillor Daniel Céitinn; Councillor Jane Horgan Jones

**Members of the Finance SPC**: Lord Mayor of Dublin, Daithí de Róiste; Chair, Seamus McGrattan; Councillor Dermot Lacey; Councillor Fiona Connelly; Aidan Sweeney, IBEC

#### Non-Members:

Councillor Donna Cooney.

#### **Dublin City Council Staff:**

John Flanagan, Assistant Chief Executive; Brendan O'Brien, Head of Technical Services (Traffic); Christopher Manzira; Senior Transportation officer, Active Travel Programme; Linda McDonald. A/Parking Enforcement Officer; Michele Murphy, Senior Executive Planner, Active Travel; Mary Boyle, A/Senior Staff Officer; Edel Joy Staff Officer; Michael Mann Staff Officer; Fergal McKay, Assistant Staff Officer; Hazel Tapley, Assistant Staff Officer;

# **ATTENDANCE:**

#### SPC Members:

Chair, Councillor Noeleen Reilly; Councillor Caroline Conroy; Councillor Deirdre Conroy; Councillor Keith Connolly; Councillor Mannix Flynn; Councillor Janet Horner; Councillor Paddy McCartan; Councillor Larry O'Toole; Councillor Michael Pidgeon; Councillor Anne Feeney;

Mr Martin Hoey, Public Participation Network; Mr Colm Ryder, Dublin Cycling Campaign; Richard Guiney Dublin Town, Mr Keith Gavin, Irish Parking; Stephen Browne, Dublin Chamber; Gary Kearney, Public Participation Network

Apologies: Councillor Daniel Céitinn; Councillor Jane Horgan Jones

**Members of the Finance SPC:** Lord Mayor of Dublin, Daithí de Róiste; Chair, Seamus McGrattan; Councillor Dermot Lacey; Councillor Fiona Connelly; Aidan Sweeney, IBEC

#### Non-Members:

Councillor Donna Cooney.

## **Dublin City Council Staff:**

John Flanagan, Assistant Chief Executive; Brendan O'Brien, Head of Technical Services (Traffic); Christopher Manzira; Senior Transportation officer, Active Travel Programme; Linda McDonald. A/Parking Enforcement Officer; Michele Murphy, Senior Executive Planner, Active Travel; Mary Boyle, A/Senior Staff Officer; Edel Joy Staff Officer; Michael Mann Staff Officer; Fergal McKay, Assistant Staff Officer; Hazel Tapley, Assistant Staff Officer;